St. John's, N.L., songwriter Tim Baker and Nova Scotia indie group Wintersleep led the East Coast Music Award nominations when the list was announced Thursday morning in St. John's.

Baker, formerly of Hey Rosetta!, and Wintersleep were both nominated for seven awards, including Album of the Year.

The self-described "modern folk" group The East Coast Pointers have six nominations, while pop duo Neon Dreams and singers Rich Aucoin and Ria Mae each have five.

Singer Jenn Grant and Cape Breton-based group Villages are nominated for four awards each, competing with Baker in the Folk Recording of the Year category.

St. John's will host the East Coast Music Awards this year from April 29 through May 3.

Actor and comedian Mary Walsh will host the April 30 awards show at Mile One Centre in the city's downtown.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Feb. 6, 2020.