FREDERICTON -- Ten people are being awarded the Order of New Brunswick for achievements that range from uniting an aboriginal community to protecting vulnerable citizens.

The recipients this year include Chief Patricia Bernard, from Madawaska Maliseet First Nation, for her work in bringing together the Wolastoqey Nation, while Leo Johnson, from Moncton, is being given the award for his "commitment to protecting vulnerable people in his community."

Community volunteers Heliodore Cote, from Grand Falls, and Claire Wilt, from Bathurst, are being recognized, as is Michel Doucet, from Dieppe, a lawyer and promoter of language rights.

Lois Scott, from Shediac Cape, is being recognized for helping establish a provincewide telehealth service, while Robyn Tingley, from Rothesay, is receiving the designation due to her contributions to women's equality.

In addition, Abraham Beverley Walker from Saint John is receiving a posthumous award as Canada's first black lawyer admitted to the bar and for his commitment to civil rights.

James Wilson, from Quispamsis, is receiving the award for his work in establishing the Point Lepreau Bird Observatory and John Wood of Oromocto is being recognized for his fundraising for muscular dystrophy.

The names were announced Sunday as part of New Brunswick Day celebrations.

The award is the province's highest civilian honour and the investiture ceremony will be held at Government House in Fredericton in October.